3D Modelling.

Brief

  • Model the environment and prop models with UV maps.
  • Coordinate modeling tasks with your team and create a full layout scene.  Each member should attempt a an equal share of props for their portfolio & development.
  • Render HD stills and/or a short camera animation with Ambient Occlusion or other clay-rendering techniques, Include comparison wireframe renders also.
  • Give credit to the team on their props on your blog and create a portfolio page demonstrating your own final props.
  • Plan, research, peer assess/critique and help your team mates.

Ideas

Most of first ideas were a little bit gruesome to say the least. We thought of having a camera going round a car crash scene but we decided maybe it was a bit much?
So we started to fling about ideas that were simple yet effective! A few ideas that came up were;

  • Camping
  • Romantic Forest walk
  • Coffee Shop
  • Titanic
  • Vintage Street

In my honest opinion I think they all would be great to create and I was eager to create any one of them. So I was happy when the group agreed on the camp site.

Once we agree we went away and thought of some props which you can find in my previous blog post:

https://cliodhnadoherty.wordpress.com/2016/10/11/whats-inside-you-camping-bag/

Dividing up the props

So Eve and Samantha made a list off all the props and we got to choose 5 or 6 each. Some I would have love to have done like the boots and lantern, I might try to model these in my spare time as  I think they would challenge me. The props which I had chosen are as follows;

  • Rope
  • Map
  • Canteen
  • Compus
  • Cans
  • Matches

So the ones I thought were going to be tough I found I was better at than the ones I thought were going to be easy.
I had a really heard time trying to model rope, I just could not get my head around it at all. I watched a tutorial and I still couldn’t get. So I asked Thomas to give me a hand, and he agreed. He got the rope sorted!

I also got stuck on the cans. Making them look like real cans instead of just cylinders. But during my tutorial with Alec he showed me how to do this by creating an extra edge loop with the cut tool and bevelling the edges. I also tried to add the we metal pulling thing that you use to open the cans but it looks pretty shit. Ps. Alec gets credit for these cans!

I really enjoyed modelling the compass! I started of with just a polygon sphere and changed the shape to suit the compass. I then selected the faces and moved them down to create the depth of the compass. Then I selected the faces at the top of the sphere and extruded them to create the piece in which the loop connects. I genuinely enjoyed doing this piece.

My canteen still has a bit of work needed on the fiddly bits, but I think it looks okay. Alec showed me how to use the curve tool to create the handle of the canteen. I modelled the canteen out of a cube, and when i was finished I was wondering why the model didn’t turn out smooth in the render samples, Jonny pointed out that I actually had to smooth the model not by just pressing the 3 key.

My matches was the first model I done to sort of ease myself into using maya again, they were simple to do.

But my attempt of a map was a different story, the first time I attempted it I just created 3 planes and to be honest it looked crap. So again I asked Thomas for some advice, he recommended using Ncloth to create that paper look. So he took me through it step by step.

  1. Creating a plane and making it an Ncloth
  2. Creating a cub and making it a collider
  3. Press play and let the magic unfold
  4. Select the Ncloth and Delete by history

Deleting by history let me move the Ncloth about and edit it. So I created a couple different attempts that could be used in our scene. I thought the idea of the map being thrown up against something or left thrown over a rock would create a sense of texture.

Overall I am pretty happy with my outcome of my models, I am a bit gutted that I couldn’t get my head around the rope as I really wanted to do it. Being faced with obstacles on maya has again widened my knowledge and helped me learn new skills. This year my team has been really good, and we have really supported each other. It was a lot less stress than I first thought and I learnt a lot of Thomas. And the final outcome is a hell of a lot better than I first imagined.

 

 

Leave a Reply

